top of page

Learning to Code

The hour of code is a large education event that teaches children around the world how to code. This project shows kids how the apps and websites that they use and depend on, are made. With the large need and dependency on technology, nowadays coding is something to have knowledge on. The hour of code is a national campaign that supports computer science towards all children. Many jobs will start to open for people with knowledge on coding because of our excessive use of technology. With schools teaching children worldwide how to code they are opening new opportunities and careers for young scholars to find.

Reflection questions after participating in the hour of code:

Explaining what you thought was the best part about participating in the Hour of Code.

I think the best part of participating in the hour of code was the feeling that I was being part of a huge educational event that may revolutionize the way we children are taught.

What skills did you practice today that you think will be useful in other subjects?

I think learning how to use a computer better and the coding behind computers, use will help me appreciate computers and how they allow me to expand my knowledge in all subjects.

What is the best way to practice these skills?

I think I could continue to use the hour of code website to learn more coding and get better with using computers.

Why are these skills important?

With the large need and dependency on technology, nowadays coding is something to have knowledge on because the future depends on it.

What was the most difficult thing you did today?

I think that the most difficult thing I did while coding was trying to coding with angels. For example, I had to make 90 degrees turns which go either right or left.

Why did you find it hard?

I had worked with angels in math for a long time so I kept putting incorrect angels, which made my avatar do things I didn't want it to do.

Who/what supported your learning?

When I grow up I want to become a film director, so coding is something I'll have to know with modern days special effects. This gave me motivation to try to learn coding.

If you were to advise someone else who had a similar issue, what advice would you give them?

I would tell someone who had trouble with angels, to preserve and try many different ways and try different numbers.

How did you feel about coding before coming to class today?

I was never a fan of coding because I didn't understand it with the previous software I used, but after today and actually learning to code it may become one of my hobbies. How did your feelings change after completing the Hour of Code? What influenced this change?

After finishing a full hour of code I still wanted to go back and do more coding because I found it fascinating that you program a computer to make whatever you can imagine.

What advice would you give to other students participating in the Hour of Code?

I would tell them to continue to code even if it gets boring at first, because it will become more fun after you gain more skills.

Are there any tutorials you recommend?

Honestly all the tutorials are great on the Hour of Code.

(They chose fun and creative activities!)

On a scale of fist to five, how interested are you in continuing to learn how to code?

I would say a 3 because coding takes a lot of patience and I'm not really a patient person with technology. :)

bottom of page